Local News‎ > ‎Ballyglass Sports‎ > ‎

2012 Ballyglass Sports

2012 Ballyglass Sports

The 2012 Open Sports were held at the Turlough on Sunday 29th July – the sun shone for most of the day – the few showers did not deter the athletes!

Congratulations to Mary Roache from Breaffy, who won the inaugural  Brian Keane Memorial Shield for the Overall Athlete at the 2012 Sports.   Brian died tragically last November – he was a wonderful athlete and one of the top all-round athletes at last year's sports.   It was fitting that his Tug of War team from Weatherfort won the competition this year.

Ruairí Keane from Castlelucas won the Aidan Prendergast Memorial Cup for the Under 14 boys sprint and Amy Gaynard from Rathnacreeva won the Bridie Prendergast Memorial Cup for the Under 14 girls sprint.   These two cups were sponsored by the Prendergast Family.

The Ray Prendergast Memorial Cup was presented by Nathan Prendergast to the winning Tug of war Team – Weatherfort.   Team members were Michael Conroy, Mark Brennan, David Brennan, Peter Feerick, Noel Morris, Neil McGurrin, Shane Conway and David Staunton [Coach- Michael Mcgurrin]. 
Runners up in the Tug of War competition were the defending champions Ardcorkey – the members of this team were Jonathan Walsh, PJ Walsh, Sean Keane, Darragh Delaney, Eamon Brennan, Eric Keane, Mark Walsh, Joe Walsh [Coach- Sean Tunney]  
The Ballyglass Tug of War team were 3rd and the members of this team were Fergal O'Gara, George O'Gara, Mick Mullaney, Michael O'Gara, Kevin Walsh, Enda Staunton, John Mellett and Matt Durkin [Coach-Michael Adams]. 

The following are the results of the other events:
Under 5 Boys     1st Sean Collins, 2nd Jonathan French, 3rd Jamie Igoe
Under 5 Girls      1st Meave Tunney, 2nd Shauna Hallinan, 3rd Lisa Keane
Under 7 Boys     1st Gavin Murphy, 2nd Conor Morley, 3rd Eoghan Keane
Under 7 Girls      1st Nicole Henghan, 2nd Shauna Hallinan, 3rd Lorna Gaynard
Under 9 Boys     1st Josh Mahon, 2nd Dean O’Malley, 3rd Cody Murphy 
Under 9 Girls      1st Ava Keane, 2nd Laura Tunney, 3rd Hannah Hughes
Under 11 Boys   1st Ruairi Keane, 2nd Josh Mahon, 3rd Oisin Tunney
Under 11 Girls    1st Amy Gaynard, 2nd Ciara Higgins, 3rd Ava Keane
Under 14 Boys   1st Ruairi Keane, 2nd Jesse Murphy, 3rd Oisin Tunney
Under 14 Girls    1st Amy Gaynard, 2nd Ciara Higgins, 3rd Tara Dunican
Men Under 35     1st Peter Killeen, 2nd Fergal O’Gara, 3rd Dylan Hughes
Men Over 35       1st Alan Prendergast, 2nd Tony Farragher, 3rd John Mellett
Ladies Over 35   1st Mary Roache, 2nd Lorraine Mannion, 3rd Martina Roache
Family Relay       1st Tunney Family, 2nd Higgins Family, 3rd Finn Family
Senior Relay       1st Alan Prendergast, Johnny Morrin, Geraldine Biggins, Cora Staunton
                           2nd: Tony Farragher, Lorraine Mannion, Mary Roache, Peter Tunney

Long Distance Races:
Under 15 boys   1st Dylan Hughes, 2nd John Heverin, 3rd Patrick Morris
Under 15 girls    1st Laura Tunney, 2nd Ava Keane, 3rd Katie Biggins
Senior Men        1st Fergal O’Gara, 2nd Pat McHale, 3rd George O’Gara
Senior Ladies     1st Mary Roache, 2nd Lorraine Mannion, 3rd Patricia Morley

Under 15’s          1st Phelim Prendergast, 2nd Luke Biggins, 3rd Ava Keane
Seniors               1st John Mellett, 2nd Fergal O’Gara, 3rd Kenny Staunton

High Jump:
Under 15 Boys   1st Niall Gilligan, 2nd Cillin Prendergast, 3rd John Heverin
Under 15 Girls   1st Alyssa Higgins, 2nd Ciara Higgins, 3rd Shannon Keane

Long Jump:
Under 15 Boys   1st Oisin Tunney, 2nd Ruairi Keane, 3rd Phelim Prendergast
Under 15 Girls   1st Ava Keane, 2nd Hannah Hughes, 3rd Alanah Prendergast

Weight throwing: 
Men                  1st Michael Heneghan, 2nd Eugene McTigue, 3rd Peter Tunney
Ladies               1st Mary Roache, 2nd Jackie Burke

Penalty Kicks:    
Under 15 boys   1st Darragh Brennan, 2nd Oisin Tunney, 3rd Alan Lally
Under 15 girls    1st Ava Keane, 2nd Amy Gaynard, 3rd Nicole Morley

Novelty Events:
Under 7 Egg & Spoon Race
Boys      1st Vincent Roache, 2nd Shane Malone, 3rd Eoghan Keane
Girls       1st Nicole Heneghan, 2nd Shauna Hallinan, 3rd Leanne Durkan

Under 7 Wheelbarrow Race
Boys      1st Jack Keane & Conor Morley, 2nd Eoghan Keane & John Finn, 3rd Shane Malone & Conor Burke
Girls       1st Nicole Henegahn & Leanne Durkan; 2nd Caoimhe & Muiren Donoghue, 3rd Lorna Gaynard & Shauna Hallinan

Under 11 Wheelbarrow Race 
Boys      1st Phelim Prendergast & Patrick Morris, 2nd Conor Donican & Oisin Tunney, 3rd James Finn & Noah Corbett
Girls       1st Amy Gaynard & Heather Burke, 2nd Ava Keane & Hannah Hughes, 3rd Ciara Higgins & Keyleigh Heffernan

Under 11 Three Legged Race
Boys      1st Phelim Prendergast & Patrick Morris, 2nd James & John Finn, 3rd Noah & Nathan Corbett.
Girls       1st Amy Gaynard & Heather Burke, 2nd Ciara Higgins & Keyleigh Heffernan, 3rd Ava Keane & Hannah Hughes

Congratulations to all the winners and indeed to all the participants.  And well done to all the volunteers and helpers who did a wonderful job organising the event.

Here are some photos from the event....

 Bernard Prendergast presents the Aiden Prendergast Cup to Under 14 sprint winners ...

Ballyglass Sports

 Geraldine Prendergast presenting the Bridie Prendergast Cup to under 14 sprint winners...

Ballyglass Sports

 Nathan prendergast presents the Ray Prendergast Cup to winning tug-of-war captain- Michael McGurrin...

The victorious Weatherfort tug-of-war team....

Ballyglass Sports

 Sarah Keane presents the Brian Keane trophy to 'athlete of the day'- Mary Roache